CDSI Resources for Providers

The scientific influence of principal investigators, scientific collaborators and research personnel at the Center for Drug Safety and Immunology (CDSI) spans numerous critical topics on drug allergy and drug-induced hypersensitivity syndromes. Below are highlights of our investigators’ contributions to the peer-reviewed literature, followed by links to their full bibliographies.  

Watch recorded expert presentations from CDSI-hosted internal meetings on immune-mediated adverse drug reactions: 

Elizabeth Phillips, MD, FRCPC, FRACP, FIDSA, FAAAAI; Founder and Director of CDSI

Dr. Phillips is a physician-scientist with expertise in drug allergy and immunogenomics, studying drug-induced hypersensitivity syndromes. She has identified the genetic and immune basis of these severe reactions during her career. Her contribution to science is detailed below by her areas of scientific influence. A complete list of Dr. Phillips' publications is available here.

  • Gibson A, Deshpande P, Campbell CN, et al. Updates on the immunopathology and genomics of severe cutaneous adverse drug reactions. J Allergy Clin Immunol. Feb 2023;151(2):289-300.e4. doi:10.1016/j.jaci.2022.12.005. PMID: 36740326;PMCID: PMC9976545. 
  • Khan DA, Banerji A, Blumenthal KG, et al. Drug allergy: A 2022 practice parameter update. J Allergy Clin Immunol. Dec 2022;150(6):1333-1393. doi:10.1016/j.jaci.2022.08.028. PMID: 36122788. 
  • Castells M, Khan DA, Phillips EJ. Penicillin allergy. N Engl J Med. Dec 12 2019;381(24):2338-2351. doi:10.1056/NEJMra1807761. PMID: 31826341. 
  • Copaescu AM, Vogrin S, James F, et al. Efficacy of a clinical decision rule to enable direct oral challenge in patients with low-risk penicillin allergy: The PALACE randomized clinical trial. JAMA Intern Med. Sep 1 2023;183(9):944-952. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2023.2986. PMID: 37459086; PMCID:PMC10352926. 

Michelle Martin-Pozo, PhD, Program Director 

Dr. Martin-Pozo is the Program Director for the Center for Drug Safety and Immunology (CDSI) in the Division of Infectious Disease at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. She manages and directs CDSI’s research and clinical trial initiatives in this role. Below are some of her more recent publications on drug-induced hypersensitivity syndromes. A complete list of Dr. Martin-Pozo's publications is available here.

Cosby Stone, Jr., MD, Principal Investigator and CDSI Collaborator  

Dr. Stone performs clinical/translational drug allergy research, including studying beta-lactam antibiotic allergies and immediate excipient allergies to alpha-gal and polyethylene glycols/polysorbates. A complete list of Dr. Stone’s publications is available here.

Eric Tkaczyk, MD, PhD, FAAD, Principal Investigator and CDSI Collaborator

 Dr. Tkaczyk utilizes biophotonics, including noninvasive diagnostic technology, 3D Imaging, and machine learning/artificial intelligence, to diagnose and treat cutaneous diseases. A complete list of Dr. Tkaczyk’s publications is available here.

Matthew Krantz, MD, Postdoctoral Fellow 

Dr. Krantz’s research is focused on investigating the immunogenomics of vancomycin-induced drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms (DRESS) syndrome by leveraging electronic health records linked to DNA biobanks (e.g., Vanderbilt’s Synthetic Derivative and BioVU) and employing cutting-edge biomedical informatics methods to bring precision medicine to patients suffering from allergic and immunologic diseases. A complete list of Dr. Krantz’s publications is available here.

Eric Mukherjee, MD, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow  

Dr. Mukherjee studies the genetics and immunology of severe adverse drug reactions. In addition, his research interests have included assessing antibody development in autoimmune blistering disease, which was the focus of his PhD thesis.


Amy Palubinsky, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow 

Dr. Palubinsky’s research focuses on elucidating the genetic and cellular mechanisms driving adverse drug reactions and developing TScan technology to discover epitopes that activate T cells harboring specific, dominant T cell receptors. A complete list of Dr. Palubinsky’s publications is available here.